Ecommerce Fulfillment Centers

Ryder E-commerce Review

By EFC Editorial · Updated · How we research

Quick answer

Ryder E-commerce is a good 3PL for brands that want a large, carrier-grade logistics company behind their fulfillment and ship DTC, retail and wholesale from one inventory pool. It's the former Whiplash, bought by Ryder for $480 million in 2021, and runs on the RyderShip platform with warehouses near the Long Beach, Savannah, New York/New Jersey and Seattle/Tacoma ports. Its Shopify listing gives starting rates of $2.35 per pick and pack and $0.45 per month for storage. It's a weaker fit if you want a small, founder-level account relationship.

Key takeaways

  • Ryder announced its $480 million acquisition of Whiplash on December 13, 2021; Whiplash then had 19 distribution centers and served more than 250 brands.
  • The RyderShip Shopify app lists pick and pack from $2.35 and storage from $0.45 per month; the storage unit isn't stated.
  • Ryder says it has more than 10 million square feet of multi-client and dedicated warehouse space near major US ports.
  • RyderShip has pre-built integrations with Shopify, Oracle NetSuite, Gorgias, Happy Returns, Loop, Global-e and Klaviyo, plus open APIs.
  • The RyderShip Shopify app rates 4.5 from 31 reviews (Sept 2026).

Ryder E-commerce (RyderShip, formerly Whiplash) at a glance

HeadquartersNot published
WarehousesLong Beach area, CA · Savannah area, GA · New York/New Jersey area, NJ · Seattle/Tacoma area, WA
SpecialtiesDTC, B2B / wholesale, Returns
Integrationsshopify, bigcommerce, loop returns, happy returns, aftership, pipe17
Order minimumNot published
Published pricingPick & pack: From $2.35 (Shopify App Store listing) · Storage: From $0.45/month (unit not specified on listing) · App free to install
ContractNot published

Sources: apps.shopify.com, supplychaindive.com (checked 2026-09-27)

What is Ryder E-commerce?

Ryder E-commerce is the ecommerce fulfillment business of Ryder System, the Coral Gables, Florida transportation and logistics company best known for truck leasing and rental. Most of the unit came from Whiplash, a tech-forward 3PL that Ryder agreed to buy for $480 million in December 2021 (Supply Chain Dive). At the time Whiplash ran 19 distribution centers totalling close to 7 million square feet and served more than 250 brands. Ryder said the deal would let it reach 100% of the US within two days and 60% within one day.

Whiplash itself was previously Port Logistics Group; it rebranded in May 2021, months before the Ryder deal. The software is now branded RyderShip, and the Shopify app is still listed under the developer name "Whiplash (now operating as RyderShip)" (Shopify App Store). Ryder also owns Dotcom Distribution, an Edison, New Jersey 3PL it acquired in 2022.

Who is Ryder E-commerce for, and who is it not for?

Good fit:

  • Brands that import through the West Coast, Southeast or Northeast ports and want fulfillment close to where containers land.
  • Omnichannel sellers that ship DTC orders, retail replenishment and wholesale from the same stock. Ryder lists GS1 labeling, palletization and LTL alongside parcel.
  • Brands that need value-added work: Ryder lists gift wrapping, kitting, RFID tagging, re-ticketing and light manufacturing.
  • Companies that want the balance sheet of a large logistics group, plus the option to grow into dedicated warehouse space.

Not a fit if:

  • You want a small 3PL where the founders know your account. Ryder is a large company, and one departing Shopify reviewer complained about declining service and a slow exit.
  • You want every fee published before a sales call. Only two starting rates are public.
  • You need warehouses outside the US.

How much does Ryder E-commerce cost?

Ryder publishes starting rates on its Shopify App Store listing, not on its own site (Sept 2026):

Fee Published figure
App install Free
Pick and pack From $2.35
Storage From $0.45 per month (unit not stated)
Receiving Not published
Setup / onboarding Not published
Monthly minimum Not published

Ryder's fulfillment page talks about a "single, predictable cost" but doesn't give figures. Treat $2.35 as a floor: it doesn't say how many items that covers, and packaging and postage are not included in it. Ask for a quote built on your own order profile and compare it line by line with 3PLs that publish full rate cards, such as ShipCalm or Simpl Fulfillment.

What services and integrations does Ryder E-commerce offer?

From Ryder's ecommerce fulfillment and RyderShip pages (Ryder, RyderShip):

  • Fulfillment: receiving, storage, pick and pack, DTC, retail and wholesale orders, in multi-client or dedicated buildings.
  • Returns: returns processing and a returns portal, with Happy Returns, Loop and ReturnGO connections.
  • Value-added services: kitting, gift wrap, RFID tags, re-ticketing, light manufacturing.
  • Software: RyderShip handles order management, multi-warehouse inventory rules, automated carrier selection, tracking pages and delivery-date estimates. Ryder says more than 50% of outbound pick volume for RyderShip users in 2025 was handled by automated solutions.
  • Integrations: Shopify, Oracle NetSuite, Gorgias, Klaviyo, Global-e, Loop and Happy Returns on Ryder's site; the Shopify listing also names AfterShip, Pipe17 and eZCom. Open APIs cover anything else.

Ryder says onboarding can take a few days, or a few weeks for custom implementations.

What are Ryder E-commerce's strengths and limitations?

Strengths

  • Backed by a large logistics group with more than 10 million square feet of warehouse space.
  • Port-market locations: Long Beach, Savannah, New York/New Jersey and Seattle/Tacoma.
  • Its own WMS and order platform (RyderShip), with automation in the pick process.
  • Omnichannel capability, including retail compliance labeling and LTL.
  • Starting rates are published, which is unusual for a provider this size.

Limitations

  • Only two headline rates are public; storage units, receiving and minimums are not published.
  • The current number of ecommerce fulfillment centers isn't stated on Ryder's site; 19 was the count at acquisition.
  • Few public reviews of the fulfillment business itself, and the Ryder brand's review profiles mostly reflect truck rental and last-mile delivery.
  • US-only warehouse network.

Is Ryder E-commerce legit? Complaints and reputation

Yes. It's a unit of a long-established logistics company, and the Whiplash acquisition was widely reported. Public signals are mixed, because most of them describe other parts of Ryder. As of September 2026:

  • Shopify App Store (RyderShip): 4.5 from 31 reviews, 84% five-star. Most reviews date from 2014 to 2019 and praise support; a 2021 review complained about declining service, cost and a slow exit (Shopify reviews).
  • Trustpilot (ryder.com): 2.1 from 15 reviews, mostly one-star, about last-mile furniture and appliance delivery, truck sales and van service (Trustpilot). We found no separate Trustpilot profile for RyderShip.
  • News: the acquisition coverage is factual deal reporting; we found no fulfillment-specific negative news in the sources checked.

Because brand-level ratings mix several businesses, ask Ryder for references from ecommerce clients in the building you'd be assigned.

What are the best Ryder E-commerce alternatives?

If you want… Consider Compare
Lower shipping costs for a US consumables brand (CPG, food, beverage, supplements, beauty, pet), with two-coast coverage and month-to-month terms Tondo Fulfillment (Editor's pick): in our experience comparing 3PL quotes, its shipping rates were the lowest we were offered Tondo review
A large multi-node DTC network with US and international nodes ShipBob ShipBob review
Enterprise omnichannel with payments and fraud services Radial Radial review
A Ryder-owned, high-touch single site in New Jersey Dotcom Distribution Dotcom Distribution review
A distributed US network paired with its own parcel carrier ShipNetwork ShipNetwork review
A network plus freight and software under one roof Stord Stord review

Frequently asked questions

Who owns Ryder E-commerce?

Ryder System, Inc., headquartered in Coral Gables, Florida. Ryder bought Whiplash, which became Ryder E-commerce, in a $480 million deal announced in December 2021.

Is Ryder E-commerce the same as Whiplash?

Yes. Whiplash (formerly Port Logistics Group) was acquired by Ryder and now operates as Ryder E-commerce, with its software branded RyderShip.

Where are Ryder E-commerce's warehouses?

Its ecommerce network is concentrated near the Long Beach, Savannah, New York/New Jersey and Seattle/Tacoma ports. Ryder doesn't publish a current count; Whiplash had 19 centers at acquisition.

How much does Ryder E-commerce charge?

Its Shopify listing shows pick and pack from $2.35 and storage from $0.45 per month. Other fees and minimums are quoted.

What does RyderShip integrate with?

Shopify, Oracle NetSuite, Gorgias, Klaviyo, Global-e, Loop, Happy Returns, AfterShip and Pipe17, plus open APIs.

Sources