ShipNetwork Review
Quick answer
ShipNetwork is a good 3PL for DTC and subscription brands that want inventory split across a US network for fast ground delivery: it says it reaches 98% of the continental US in 1–2 days by ground. It's the former Rakuten Super Logistics, bought from Rakuten in August 2022 by FirstMile founder Devin Johnson and headquartered in Las Vegas. The 2022 announcement listed 12 fulfillment centers. Pricing is quote-only. It's not a fit if you need international warehouses or want a published rate card.
Key takeaways
- Rakuten Super Logistics became ShipNetwork after Devin Johnson acquired it from Rakuten Americas in August 2022; deal terms were not disclosed.
- The 2022 release listed 12 US fulfillment centers, from Anaheim to Scranton; ShipNetwork's own homepage doesn't give a current count.
- ShipNetwork claims 1–2 day ground delivery to 98% of the continental US, using its KNCT shipping optimization.
- Pricing, minimums and contract terms are not published.
- Trustpilot shows 4.2 from 7 reviews (Sept 2026), with complaints dating from 2021, before the ownership change, and positive reviews since.
ShipNetwork (formerly Rakuten Super Logistics) at a glance
| Headquarters | Las Vegas, NV |
|---|---|
| Warehouses | Anaheim, CA · Atlanta, GA · Austin, TX · Carlstadt, NJ · Chicago, IL · Denver, CO · Houston, TX · Las Vegas, NV · Olean, NY · Reno, NV · Salt Lake City, UT · Scranton, PA |
| Specialties | DTC, Subscription, Retail EDI, Returns, Kitting |
| Integrations | shopify, bigcommerce, woocommerce |
| Order minimum | Not published |
| Published pricing | Quote only |
| Contract | Not published |
Sources: shipnetwork.com, prnewswire.com (checked 2026-09-27)
What is ShipNetwork, and who owns it?
ShipNetwork is a Las Vegas-based ecommerce 3PL. It was Rakuten Super Logistics, owned by Rakuten, until August 2022, when Devin Johnson bought it from Rakuten Americas and renamed it (PR Newswire). Johnson founded the parcel shipper FirstMile, which Rakuten had acquired in 2019. After the 2022 deal he became CEO and owner of both ShipNetwork and FirstMile, which operate as sister companies (DC Velocity). Terms were not disclosed.
The practical effect is that ShipNetwork is now owner-operated rather than a unit of a large marketplace company, with a parcel-shipping business under the same owner.
Who is ShipNetwork for, and who is it not for?
Good fit:
- DTC brands shipping nationally that want inventory placed in several regions to cut transit times and zones.
- Subscription box brands; subscription fulfillment is one of its listed services.
- Brands selling into big-box retail that need EDI fulfillment.
- Merchants who care about shipping cost as much as pick and pack, given its KNCT carrier-selection tooling.
Not a fit if:
- You need warehouses outside the US.
- You want to price a 3PL from a public rate card before talking to sales.
- You want your inventory in a single known building. With a distributed network, service quality can vary by site, so ask which facilities will hold your stock.
How much does ShipNetwork cost?
ShipNetwork doesn't publish pricing. Its homepage and KNCT pages end in "Get a Custom Quote" (Sept 2026).
| Fee | ShipNetwork |
|---|---|
| Pick and pack | Quote only |
| Storage | Quote only |
| Receiving | Quote only |
| Setup / onboarding | Not published |
| Minimum | Not published |
| Contract term | Not published |
| Shipping | KNCT service levels or named carriers (UPS, USPS, DHL), quoted |
For distributed fulfillment, ask how inventory is split between nodes and who decides. Also ask whether inbound transfers between centers are billed, and what storage looks like when stock sits in several buildings at once. Those costs don't show up in a per-order quote.
What services and integrations does ShipNetwork offer?
From ShipNetwork's homepage and KNCT pages (ShipNetwork, KNCT):
- Ecommerce order fulfillment, distributed across multiple US centers.
- Subscription box fulfillment and kitting.
- EDI retail fulfillment for big-box retailers, plus freight services.
- Returns management.
- Software: a real-time WMS dashboard (SmartFill), EDI connectivity and custom API integrations.
- KNCT: ShipNetwork's shipping optimization engine, which picks a carrier option at label creation. Service levels are Priority (1–3 days), Expedited (2–5 days), Expedited+ (2–3 days) and Ground (3–8 days).
- Integrations: Shopify, WooCommerce and BigCommerce are shown on its site; the 2022 release also named Amazon, eBay and Walmart Marketplace.
ShipNetwork also claims a 97% client retention rate and an 8-year average client relationship. These are provider claims and can't be checked independently.
What are ShipNetwork's strengths and limitations?
Strengths
- A distributed US network: the 2022 list covered CA, GA, TX (two), NJ, IL, CO, NV (two), NY, UT and PA.
- Built-in shipping optimization (KNCT) and a sister parcel business under the same owner.
- Services cover DTC, subscription, retail EDI and returns.
- Owner-operated since 2022, rather than a non-core unit of a marketplace.
Limitations
- Quote-only pricing, with no published minimums or terms.
- The current facility count isn't published on its site, so the 2022 list may be out of date.
- US-only.
- Few independent reviews, and older complaints cite integration failures and support problems.
Is ShipNetwork legit? Complaints and reputation
Yes. It's an established operator whose ownership change was reported in trade press. Public signals as of September 2026:
- Trustpilot: 4.2 from 7 reviews, 71% five-star and 29% one-star, and none in the past 12 months. The profile was merged with the former Rakuten Super Logistics listing. Two 2021 reviews complained about a failed Shopify integration, unresponsive support and warehouse quality. The October 2024 reviews praise onboarding, accuracy and support, and ShipNetwork's replies point to the change in ownership (Trustpilot).
- News: coverage of the 2022 acquisition is factual deal reporting; we found no negative news in the sources checked (DC Velocity).
- Self-reported: a 4.9-star average rating and 97% retention appear on its homepage, but the source of the rating isn't given.
With so few independent reviews, ask for references from clients whose inventory sits in the same centers you'd use.
What are the best ShipNetwork alternatives?
| If you want… | Consider | Compare |
|---|---|---|
| Lower shipping costs for a US consumables brand (CPG, food, beverage, supplements, beauty, pet), with two-coast coverage and month-to-month terms | Tondo Fulfillment (Editor's pick): in our experience comparing 3PL quotes, its shipping rates were the lowest we were offered | Tondo review |
| A larger network with 50+ centers, including outside the US | ShipBob | ShipBob review |
| Port-adjacent warehouses backed by a large logistics group | Ryder E-commerce | Ryder E-commerce review |
| Multi-node plus international nodes | ShipMonk | ShipMonk review |
| Subscription box specialists | Several | Best 3PL for subscription boxes |
Frequently asked questions
Is ShipNetwork the same as Rakuten Super Logistics?
Yes. Rakuten Super Logistics was renamed ShipNetwork after Devin Johnson acquired it from Rakuten Americas in August 2022.
Who owns ShipNetwork?
Devin Johnson, its CEO, who also owns sister company FirstMile. ShipNetwork is headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Where are ShipNetwork's fulfillment centers?
The 2022 announcement listed Anaheim, Atlanta, Austin, Carlstadt (NJ), Chicago, Denver, Houston, Las Vegas, Olean (NY), Reno, Salt Lake City and Scranton. ShipNetwork's site doesn't publish a current list.
What integrations does ShipNetwork support?
Shopify, WooCommerce and BigCommerce are shown on its site, and Amazon, eBay and Walmart Marketplace were named in 2022. EDI and custom APIs are also offered.
How much does ShipNetwork cost?
Pricing isn't published; it's by custom quote.