ShipBob vs ShipMonk
Quick answer
Pick ShipBob if you want the larger network (50+ centers, its claim) across the US, Canada, UK, EU and Australia, B2B/EDI and TikTok Shop support, and a stronger reputation signal (4.0 on Trustpilot, 1,083 reviews, Sept 2026). Pick ShipMonk if you need hazmat or bonded-warehouse handling, a Czech Republic node for EU shipping, or want a published minimum formula. Both quote pricing per client. Weigh ShipMonk's 2026 data breach and its 2.6 Trustpilot score (430 reviews) before choosing it.
Key takeaways
- ShipBob claims 50+ fulfillment centers; ShipMonk lists 11.
- Neither publishes per-order rates; ShipMonk publishes how its monthly minimum is calculated.
- ShipMonk lists hazmat and bonded warehousing; ShipBob doesn't list hazmat.
- ShipBob scores 4.0 on Trustpilot (1,083 reviews); ShipMonk scores 2.6 (430 reviews) (Sept 2026).
- Trezor disclosed in 2026 that a Metabase flaw exposed its customers' data held by ShipMonk.
ShipBob at a glance
| Headquarters | Chicago, IL |
|---|---|
| Warehouses | Chicago metro (Aurora, Bolingbrook, Elwood, St. Charles, Yorkville), IL · Kenosha / Twin Lakes, WI · Dayton / Budd Lake / Jackson / Trenton, NJ · Bethlehem / Wind Gap / Levittown / Reading, PA · Atlanta metro (Duluth, Buford, Fairburn, Conyers), GA · Chattanooga, TN · Dallas-Fort Worth metro, TX · Inland Empire / Carson / Rancho Dominguez, CA · Reno / Las Vegas, NV · Phoenix, AZ · Toronto area / Vancouver, Canada · Manchester / Birmingham / Kettering / Oxford, United Kingdom · Netherlands · Spain · Sydney / Melbourne, Australia |
| Specialties | DTC, B2B / wholesale, Retail EDI, Amazon FBA prep, TikTok Shop, International, Kitting, Returns |
| Integrations | shopify, amazon, bigcommerce, TikTok Shop, netsuite, sps commerce, klaviyo, gorgias, aftership, loop returns |
| Order minimum | Not stated on pricing page |
| Published pricing | Quote only |
| Contract | Not published |
Sources: shipbob.com, shipbob.com, shipbob.com (checked 2026-09-27)
ShipMonk at a glance
| Headquarters | Fort Lauderdale, FL |
|---|---|
| Warehouses | Fort Lauderdale, FL · Las Vegas (2), NV · Dallas-Fort Worth, TX · Pittston (2), PA · Louisville (2), KY · Ontario, Canada · Cheb, Czech Republic · Coalville, United Kingdom |
| Specialties | DTC, B2B / wholesale, Amazon FBA prep, International, Hazmat, Returns, Kitting |
| Integrations | shopify, bigcommerce, ebay, amazon, loop returns |
| Order minimum | Monthly minimum exists; set with pick fees and projected volume (per pricing page) |
| Published pricing | Quote only |
| Contract | Not published |
Sources: shipmonk.com, shipmonk.com, shipmonk.com (checked 2026-09-27)
Is ShipBob or ShipMonk better for my brand?
| ShipBob | ShipMonk | |
|---|---|---|
| HQ | Chicago, IL | Fort Lauderdale, FL |
| Fulfillment centers | 50+ (claim) | 11 |
| Countries with sites | US, CA, UK, NL, ES, AU | US, CA, UK, CZ |
| Pricing | Custom quote | Custom quote |
| Minimum | Not stated | Orders × first-item pick fee − 20% |
| Hazmat | Not listed | Listed |
| B2B / EDI | Yes (SPS Commerce) | B2B listed |
| FBA prep | Yes | Yes |
| TikTok Shop | Listed | Not listed in our dataset |
| Software | Own WMS, also sold standalone | Own OMS/WMS/IMS, SOC 2 Type II (per site) |
| Stated accuracy | 99.97% (claim) | 99.9% (claim) |
| Trustpilot (Sept 2026) | 4.0 (1,083 reviews) | 2.6 (430 reviews) |
Verdict: ShipBob for multi-node scale and channel breadth; ShipMonk for hazmat, EU via the Czech Republic, or a formula-based minimum you can model.
Where does ShipBob win?
- Network size: 50+ centers vs 11, with more US metros (Chicago, NJ, PA, Atlanta, Chattanooga, Dallas-Fort Worth, Inland Empire, Reno/Las Vegas, Phoenix).
- Channel coverage: B2B/EDI through SPS Commerce, TikTok Shop and a broad set of DTC tools (Klaviyo, Gorgias, AfterShip, Loop Returns).
- Australia and Western Europe: ShipBob has sites in Australia, the Netherlands and Spain.
- Reputation signals: higher Trustpilot score on a larger sample.
- Software as a product: its WMS is also sold standalone, so you could keep the software if you ever insource.
Where does ShipMonk win?
- Hazmat and bonded warehousing: listed specialties for ShipMonk, not ShipBob.
- Central Europe: a site in Cheb, Czech Republic, plus the UK.
- Minimum transparency: its pricing page spells out how the monthly minimum is calculated, which lets you model the floor.
- Fee transparency by category: its pricing page names small fees (batching under 50 orders, gift messages, fragile wrap) up front.
The trade-off: its 2026 breach, reported by Trezor and The Hacker News, and lower Trustpilot score.
How do ShipBob and ShipMonk pricing differ?
Both quote per client, so you can't compare rates without two quotes. Structurally:
- ShipBob bundles implementation, receiving, storage and pick/pack/ship as standard fee categories, includes standard packaging and free software, and charges extra for kitting, B2B/EDI orders, custom packaging and returns (flat fee per return).
- ShipMonk bills storage by product size and volume, fulfillment fees that adjust with volume, and extras (batching, gift messages, fragile wrap, special projects). Its monthly minimum = monthly orders × first-item pick fee, reduced by 20%.
Send both the same order profile (units per order, weights, SKU count, monthly volume, destinations) to compare like with like.
How do their reputations compare?
As of September 2026:
- ShipBob: 4.0 on Trustpilot (1,083 reviews). Complaints cite fulfillment errors and peak-season delays.
- ShipMonk: 2.6 on Trustpilot (430 reviews). Complaints cite data security, lost inventory and slow fulfillment. Trezor disclosed that attackers used a critical Metabase SQL-injection flaw to reach ShipMonk-held data on roughly 80,000 of its customers, including orders placed between November 2019 and August 2021 that Trezor said ShipMonk had assured it were deleted.
Full details: ShipBob review and ShipMonk review.
Frequently asked questions
Is ShipBob or ShipMonk cheaper?
Neither publishes rates, so it depends on your quote. ShipMonk's minimum is formula-based, which can matter more than per-order price at low volume.
Which has more warehouses, ShipBob or ShipMonk?
ShipBob, with 50+ fulfillment centers by its own count, versus 11 for ShipMonk.
Does ShipMonk ship hazmat?
Yes, hazmat is a listed ShipMonk specialty. ShipBob doesn't list hazmat among its services.
What are ShipBob and ShipMonk alternatives?
Stord for enterprise omnichannel, Red Stag for heavy goods, ShipCalm for a published rate card, and LVK Logistics (ex-ShipHero fulfillment) for a WMS-first operator.
Sources
- ShipBob homepage
- ShipBob pricing page
- ShipBob fulfillment center locations
- Trustpilot: ShipBob reviews
- ShipMonk homepage
- ShipMonk pricing page
- ShipMonk fulfillment locations
- Trustpilot: ShipMonk reviews
- The Hacker News: Trezor says ShipMonk breach exposed 67,000 U.S. customers (Sept 2026)
- Trezor: Recent customer data exposed in shipping provider incident